5 Ways to Make Your Desserts Healthier

Your Twenty-Something PR Girl is not a food blog, and I’m not a licensed nutritionist, but I think we’re all on the same page when it comes to desserts. Enjoying something sweet during the busy work week is something I always crave. We want to be able to have a sweet treat without paying for it later. The problem with dessert is it’s not the best for you and your favorite pair of jeans. But ever since I became a Tone It Up girl, I realized there are ways I can still have dessert without most of the guilt. So, here are five of my favorite ways to make desserts healthier.

Applesauce

Applesauce is one of my favorite substitutes for butter. It is even better when you use homemade unsweetened applesauce. It keeps the dessert moist, and you’re still getting all the benefits that come from the apples. It’s a major win. I like to use it in my muffin and oatmeal cookie recipes.

Pumpkin Puree

Pumpkin puree works a lot like applesauce and is at the top of my shopping list, especially during the fall. I love anything that has pumpkin puree and pumpkin spice in it. It has so many benefits that you feel good about while enjoying it. The recipes I tend to make with pumpkin puree are muffins, cookies, pancakes, and donut holes.

Perfect Fit Protein (PFP)

Most of the desserts I make come from Tone It Up, and a lot of their dessert recipes call for PFP. It’s organic, non-GMO, free of dairy and gluten, kosher and vegan, so literally, whatever your diet is, there is a good chance you can eat it. I prefer it so much more to other protein powders because of the taste, and it bakes so well in my desserts. From muffins to donuts, I can finally have my favorites for breakfast again while not falling behind on my fitness and nutrition goals.

Coconut Oil

I started using coconut oil on my hair and skin before I even started using it in the kitchen, and I wish I started using it in the kitchen sooner. Coconut, in general, has a ton of benefits, so I prefer it to other oils when I am baking. I substitute coconut oil for vegetable oil in my recipes whenever it calls for it. It also adds a little extra taste, which I love.

Oat Flour

Using oat flour is an excellent alternative to all-purpose flour because you are still getting benefits from the oats. I use it in practically anything that requires flour, and I feel less guilty about it, too. Everything still comes out the same, just a tad bit healthier. Also, if you have oats, you can save a trip to the grocery store and make your own by putting it in the food processor.

There are so many more alternatives to make your desserts healthier, but these top 5 are my favorite. I can vouch for how well it makes the desserts taste and how my clothes fit better than ever. It really pays off to do some research, so you do not have to cut out dessert completely from your life.

Want to see what sweet treats I am meal prepping for the week? Take a look at these #TIUApproved treats below!

Leave a Reply

