Why I Walked Out of an Interview and Will Never Regret it

After graduation, I was trying to take it easy and not jump into a full-time job, but at the same time, I was ready to start working in my field. I applied to about three jobs a week that interest me, and some called me back, and some didn’t. There was one in particular that had a great nonprofit PR description and helped the environment at the same time, which I felt I qualified perfectly for.

I got a phone call from a woman, who didn’t sound too professional, but I still called her back because I didn’t want to pass up a potential job. She asked me a few questions and then told me where the interview was being held. She also mentioned I could dress casual, which I found strange. But on the morning of the interview, I still dressed as I usually would – in fact, I thought my outfit looked really professional.

The interview was about an hour away, and she didn’t give me a landmark to look for, so when I got to the destination, I was a little confused on where I was. I finally found a small sign right next to a UPS store, which pointed to me to where I was supposed to go. The place seemed kind of sketchy to me when I walked in, and I had to go up a few flights of stairs. It also had a weird smell, and the walls reminded me of a scene out of a horror movie. I kept thinking, “Is this where I die?”, Unsure if I agreed to a fake interview or something. From that moment, I wanted to turn around, but I kept telling myself, “No, just wait and see.” I didn’t want to turn around and wonder if I would’ve liked it but by that time, I had a feeling I wouldn’t anyway.

When I walked in, a girl gave me an “application,” and there were other people in the room wearing street clothes. I didn’t care that I looked overdressed because I dressed how one should dress for an interview.

We waited for awhile, and I contemplated leaving the whole time because something just didn’t feel right. After about 10 minutes, a younger guy, about my age, walked out. I really try not to judge a book by its cover, but after doing a research paper on suspicious people, I was freaking out, especially since I noticed something in his pocket that was bulging out. It couldn’t have been a gun, but at that moment, I assumed the worst and was ready to leave.

The interview ended up being a group interview and a one-on-one interview. We all had to introduce ourselves and what not after he talked about the organization. It was a little weird to me because I’m so used to a one-on-one interview.

After the group interview, he took us into his office to talk one-on-one. I ended up being first. He was friendly, and we had a few things in common, such as the colleges we went to. He proceeded to talk more about the organization and asked me questions, such as where I saw myself working. I was completely honest the whole time, and after I had told him where I saw myself working, I knew I was wasting not only my time but his time in that room. I was going to finish the interview, but during an answer to one of his questions, I had word vomit come out of my mouth saying, “I’m sorry, but I don’t want to waste your time anymore. This is not where I see myself working”. He looked surprised, but we shook hands, and I walked right out.

It was an awkward situation by far and maybe a little embarrassing at first, but I don’t regret it and here’s why: passion.

I knew the moment I got to the interview, something felt off. The whole time I was freaking out because I couldn’t take it seriously. Even the actual job duties and pay did not see right to me once the guy explained it. There was absolutely no passion for this potential job at all, and that’s exactly why I had to walk out.

If I am going to do something, I want to put my whole heart into it. I am a passionate person, not in only in love and relationships, but in jobs; I have to feel good about what I am doing and be all in.

I think having passion and determination for a job can only help you succeed more. There’s no reason we should be driving to and from a job we can’t stand if we only get one life. In fact, there would be no real reason to drive to and from a job we can’t stand even if we got more than one life. Time is not always guaranteed, which means we have to be somewhat to picky with where we decide to work and not settle for something we don’t like.

Sometimes we have to suck it up for part-time grocery store jobs, where rude customers try to ruin your day to get through college, but I think when we are about to start our career after college, it’s a little different. Having a passion for your career will make it easier to wake up in the morning and go to it. It shouldn’t feel like work, and if it does, then maybe we need to rethink what we’re doing in life. Life is too short to not be passionate about all the things in our life, especially one we may spend 40+ hours a week at.

 

Leave a Reply

