How I Achieved and Maintained my Fitness Goals with a Full-time Job

Our fitness goals tend to be put on the back burner when it comes to a busy schedule. We find excuse after excuse to not fit in a workout because we think we don’t have time or are just too tired. The problem is we believe that we don’t have time when we actually do and we’re tired because we’re not working out. Just like we carve out time to do other daily activities, we have to do the same for working out.

At college, I was lucky enough to be very active. I was to be able to get my workout in after my morning classes (sorry to all the professors that thought I was a bum and always wore workout clothes, I just didn’t want to do a million loads of laundry by changing constantly), which meant I didn’t have to wake up at the crack of dawn. On top of that, I danced with a dance club on campus (#DelSarte) a few nights a week, which gave me an extra opportunity to move and stretch. Also, it must be an unwritten requirement to have all college campuses on a hill and make the buildings you need to be at least a mile away from each other, so I got a lot of extra steps in.

After college, I was working evening shifts, which meant I could sleep in, workout, do whatever I wanted, then go to work. I was practically living the fit-ish/lazy girl dream. From college to after college, I had an ample amount of time to workout a few days a week. But I wanted to take it one step further after getting a real job and have a built-in routine involving working out at least 6 days a week.

I just went full-time at my big girl job in the beginning of January and I was determined to make it a priority to never skip a workout because of it, which I successfully have. I’m the kind of person that has to workout before noon otherwise it’s just not going to happen. Plus, I’ve noticed a difference in my mood and the way my day goes when I get my workout in the morning. So the only logical (yet, crazy) thing to do is workout before work. Fortunately, my workday doesn’t start until 9 a.m., and there is just something so much better about rising at 6 a.m. than 5 a.m. (sorry to all those 8 a.m.ers, but I believe in you).

How have I been able to wake up every morning, get a workout in before work, achieve my fitness goals and get in the best shape of my life? Take a peek a below to find out!

I’m Highly Motivated and Determined

I’ve always had fitness goals and it’s been a long road to achieve each and every one of them. I made the same excuses over and over again that eventually led me to be more tired of being tired of not achieving each one.

What did I start doing differently? I stopped wishing for it and started working for it. I wrote my goals down as a way of making it more concrete and I look at them every day. Now, every time I wake up in the morning, I may think about how tired I am, but I also think about my goals that I am achieving every little bit at a time.

Without goals, motivation, and determination, you’re going to keep pressing snooze and keep wishing.

I Set my Alarm One Hour Earlier Than I Usually Would

I’ve learned to compromise quite a bit when it comes to waking up an extra hour earlier than usual. I’ve reduced time on my phone before bed by reminding myself that everything I will see that night will still be there in the morning when I eat my breakfast. Additionally, I barely look at social media when I wake up (if I do then I will be laying in bed forever; there’s just so much news and content!). Furthermore, I realized I can still look presentable to the public without washing my hair [but still showering every day] for days at a time (thank you dry shampoo and hair dryers, you’re lifesavers!). Also, so what if I don’t put on a full face of makeup if my workout runs into the time I would usually need to get ready? BB cream, concealer, bronzer, blush and a touch of mascara work just fine for most days out of the week.

I also think about how good I am going to feel after I workout and how satisfied I am going to be with myself every week because I made the conscious decision to get up an extra hour early. If I ignore my alarm, then I end up rushing, running late, and a little flustered.

Additionally, working out in the morning means you get to rise with the sunrise before the world turns chaotic. There’s no one around to say or do anything to bother or distract you from working out. Mornings are full of all good vibes, peace, and quiet when you wake earlier, which helps tremendously to keep your mind clear for the time you workout.

Meal Prep is the Real MVP

You see people meal prepping all the time, and you also see people making fun of those people that meal prep. The reality is, the individuals who are taking the time to meal prep are saving money, time, and energy. They’re doing life right.

I am so happy I meal prep my food- especially breakfast and lunch. I can actually stay in bed a tad bit longer because my breakfast and lunch are waiting for me in the fridge every day. Taking the time to get prepared for the week on Sunday leads to more time doing what you want to do during the week and the weekend because you’ll literally have more money and time to spend on the things you want.

You’ll also be eating more consciously instead of splurging on a high carb, high fat lunches, which means you’ll be able to say hello those abs you’ve been working on in the mornings.

I Live for HIIT

Even though I consider myself a runner, it does get boring and takes up a lot of time in the morning if I choose it for cardio on a certain day. I’m all about saving time, which is precisely where HIIT (high-intensity interval training) comes into play. I believe I sweat more during a 15 minute HIIT routine than I do during a two-mile run. It’s amazing and I even have more energy after it, too. I’m a lot stronger than before starting HIIT because it’s not just working my heart, but it’s working multiple muscle groups at a time.

I Found a Workout and Nutrition Program I Can Trust

I was the girl at the gym that kind of knew what she was doing and kind of eating healthy during college, but was not totally aware of what I should be doing. I thought I was doing good enough, though. But after finding a fitness and nutrition program that I’ve invested a lot of my own money and time into, I’ve been able to reach my goals because it tells me exactly what muscle group, cardio, and workouts I should be doing every day. It also lays out a guide on what to eat 5 times a day, which is extremely helpful with a busy schedule. It saves me so much time and energy that I would be lost without it now.

By finding a workout and nutrition guide that works for you, you’ll surely save time and money. There are a lot out there, but you have to find one that fits your needs. The one I found is community-driven, full of motivated and inspiring ladies who have the same goals – a healthy and fit lifestyle. It utilizes social media platforms to its full potential, which is a must with the ever-changing trends and where most people are spending their free time these days. If you follow me then you probably already know the program I’ve invested my time into, but if not, it is called Tone It Up. I highly recommend saving their daily workout tab on your phone’s home screen and looking into their nutrition plan.

It’s Time for a Reality Check

The reality is if you can make time to check your phone for an hour, then you can make time to workout for an hour instead. The games, the posts, the people, will still be there when you’re done. You’ll get more sleep by unplugging from the social media world, making it easier getting up an hour earlier every morning, and you won’t be disappointed about what you see in the mirror. By establishing a routine where fitness and nutrition are a priority and a habit, you can achieve your goals with a full-time job just like I have.

 

How do you maintain a workout routine and healthy lifestyle with a full-time job? Let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “How I Achieved and Maintained my Fitness Goals with a Full-time Job

Leave a Reply

